Nostalgia: Whatever Happened to … Jesse Sapolu?

https://i2.wp.com/www.sportsecyclopedia.com/nfl/sf49/Sapolu49.jpgJesse Sapolu is one of the true San Francisco 49ers in history. The 6″4′, 278-pound University of Hawaii product was taken in the 1983 draft. For the next 13 years, the big Samoan manned the offensive line, protecting the likes of Joe Montana and Steve Young.

Sapolu was a two-time Pro Bowler (1993, 1994) and one of six Niners to win four Super Bowls (can you name the others?).

Since he retired in 1997, he bought a sports bar in Los Angeles and became the vice president of a security company.

Seems about right–Sapolu protecting people.

Jesse Sapolu [Wikipedia]

6 Responses to Nostalgia: Whatever Happened to … Jesse Sapolu?

  1. ethel says:

    He is one of the nicest guy in sports. He is very approachable and he still very much involve with the 49er functions. I am still waiting for his nomination to the Hall of Fame.

  2. Jesse Manase says:

    was uncle how you doin??Jus stoppin to say hi…..

  3. Jesse Manase says:

    Do you know me????

  4. Anonymous says:

    Jessie is a great guy. A big man with a big heart. I wish him all the best in the future.

  5. tatofi says:

    thats my idol right ther…hitting up the o line is the best…hopefuly ill be in the NFL like u…

  6. L Kang says:

    I was passing by the headquarters in Santa Clara today when I spotted Jesse in the parking lot..I backed the car, put down my window and said is your name Jesse? He said yes, walked over asked my name and shook my hand..That told me a lot about the type of person he is..he was one of my favorite niners growing up..and he proved me right by not letting me down when I finally saw him for the first time face-to-face.
    Keep on going big guy!

Leave a Reply

